• Back in the bush for a month

    So here I am, back in Hwange for a month. It's really hot and quite dry. However, the elephants don't look so bad as they did last year...

    My mission is (rather seems!) quite simple: I need to remove the collars deployed on hyaenas to collect the last of their data. Now the issue is that we don't have a dart gun on the project so I need to borrow one from colleagues when they don't need it. Then I need to find a bait. Then I need to find a ranger available to come with me. Then I need to get the correct hyaena on the bait. Then, obvisously I need to dart her. Then We have to find her. Then... Well in a word, it's not such an easy mission. But I'll do my best!

    For the first part of my stay here, I've been involved in another movie from Winds Prodcutions. They have developped quite an intersting technology allowing them to film at night with infra red light and get coloured images with stars in the sky, just amazing!! So I was there to help them get the footages they wanted of hyaenas and lions. I think we did quite well. We had 2 great nights, one with hyaenas running around the pan with hundreds of elehants and whooping all over the plcae, and a second one with a pride of 10 lions (with Lucky and Tommy) rooaring all around thus. It was wonderful! I hope the images are great too!

     

    Right, time for me to go to work now... Keep in touch!

    Back in the bush for a month


  • Comments

    No comments yet

    Suivre le flux RSS des commentaires


    Add comment

    Name / User name:

    E-mail (optional):

    Website (optional):

    Comment: